Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content
Navigate Up
Sign In

  Welcome to Macon County Schools 

Located in the scenic southwestern part of the state, Macon County is one of the fastest growing counties in North Carolina. Our county is home to approximately 32,395 full-time residents, and our public schools serve almost 4,400 students. There are eleven schools in the Macon County Schools system.  There are four elementary schools, one intermediate, one middle, and one high school located within an eight-mile radius of Franklin, the county seat.  There are two k-12 schools, one in Nantahala and one in Highlands. Union Academy is a 6-12 school and we have one early college high school. All eleven schools are accredited by the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools and the North Carolina State Board of Education.
To be a globally competitive school system striving for continuous improvement.
 -Motivated Faculty & Staff
 -All Children Can Learn
 -Management by Fact
 -Stakeholder Partnerships
 -Safe & Healthy Learning Environment
Macon County Schools Strategic Plan



​Franklin High School Freshman Orientation will be held on Tuesday, August 18, 2015 at 7:00 pm in the Fine Arts Center.

Macon Early College Freshman Orientation will be held on Tuesday, August 11, 2015 at 6:00 pm in the downstairs area of the  Southwestern Community College Groves Center.

Read to Achieve Results

Click here ​to see the Read to Achieve results for Macon County Schools.


 Makin' News



 Contact Information:

   1202 Old Murphy Road
   Franklin, NC 28734

Hours of Operation:
8:00 - 4:30 Monday - Friday

   828-524-3314 - Phone
   828-524-5938 - Fax
   828-524-2513 - Bus Garage
   828-524-8771 - Child Nutrition
   828-524-4460 - Maintenance