Top Nav Menu

Welcome to Macon County Schools

2015-02 EFES-webLocated in the scenic southwestern part of the state, Macon County is one of the fastest growing counties in North Carolina. Our county is home to approximately 32,395 full-time residents, and our public schools serve almost 4,400 students. There are eleven schools in the Macon County Schools system.  There are four elementary schools, one intermediate, one middle, and one high school located within an eight-mile radius of Franklin, the county seat.  There are two k-12 schools, one in Nantahala and one in Highlands. Union Academy is a 7-12 school and we have one early college high school. All eleven schools are accredited by the North Carolina State Board of Education.


Provide an education that leads to productive citizenship and lifelong learning


Macon County Schools will be a globally competitive school district striving for continuous improvement.


  • Continuous Improvement
  • Motivated Faculty & Staff
  • All Children Can Learn
  • Management by Fact
  • Stakeholder Partnerships
  • Safe & Healthy Learning Environment

We Care

“Here you will find resources regarding school safety and suicide prevention.  You will also find a link to anonymously report concerns about students.  Click on the WE CARE button for more information.”

K12 Payment Center

K12 Payment Center
You can now manage your student’s lunch account on-line!  You can manage multiple student accounts, make payments and see what your student is purchasing.  Click on the K12 Payment Center icon below to set up an account.

Macon County Schools is in the process of reviewing its website to ensure compliance with Section 504 of the Rehabilitation Act and Title II of the Americans with Disabilities Act. If you have questions or concerns regarding the accessibility of the website or if you are unable to access a page or document on the website, you may contact the Technology Department via email at